• Decorated by the King: Australians Leaving Buckingham Palace

Captain Augustus Oates, D.S.O. (O.C. 7th Battalion), is on the left: Captain Arthur Seaforth Blackburn V.C. (10th Battalion), is in the centre: and Captain William Francis James McCann M.C. (10th Battalion), is on the right. The investiture took place on October 5, 1916. Sydney Mail 22 November, 1916.