• James Churchill Smith

Army / Flying Corps

To select multiple units, brigades and ranks, hold the ctrl or shift key on your keyboard and select your options

  • Birth

    Norwood SA 5067, Australia

  • Enlistment - WW1

    South Australia, Australia

Stories and comments
    • description of photo in Australian War Memorial.
    • Posted by helenpre, Thursday, 26 November 2015

    Group portrait of officers and non-commissioned officers of 8th Reinforcements of the 10th, 12th and 16th Battalions, at Mitcham camp (later Colonel Light Gardens), Adelaide, South Australia. Identified from left to right: back row: 2568 Corporal (Cpl) Leslie Gordon Shannon from Bagot's Well, South Australia (later Lieutenant (Lt) and awarded DCM); 2709 Pte Leslie George William Caust from Somerton, South Australia (later Lt); 2567 Cpl Alan Kenmore Brooker, from Kent Town, South Australia; Cpl Mac...(unidentified), 2608 Cpl Roy Reginald Foulkes from Gilles Plains, South Australia (later Sergeant); and 2631 Cpl Douglas Bertram Bert Crisp from Rosewater, South Australia. Second row from back: 2606 Sergeant (Sgt) James Finlay from Hyde Park, South Australia; 2559 Sgt David Jesse Henry Millard from Port Pirie South Australia; 2603 Cpl George Evans from Stepney, South Australia; 914 Sgt Leonard Charles Gardner from Murray Bridge, South Australia (later Company Quartermaster Sergeant); 2593 Sgt James Eric Mayne from North Adelaide (later Company Sergeant Major); and 2664 Sgt Samuel (Sammy) Aynsworth Osborne from Prospect South Australia (later awarded the Military Medal). Third row: 2558 Cpl William Roland (Bill) Brooker, from Kent Town; 2592 Cpl Ernest George Hodge from Alberton South Australia (later Lt); 2602 Sgt Maurice Leonard (Len) Gurr from North Kensington, South Australia (killed in action in France between 6-10 April 1917); 2600 Lance Corporall Libby Sibly (Lib) Waye from Willunga, South Australia; unknown, unknown, and 2632 Sgt Hugh Gordon Garland from Alberton, South Australia (later Lt and awarded DCM and MM and killed in action in France on 3 May 1918); Front row: Lt Stewart; Lt Herman Fritz Hubbe from Knightsbridge, South Australia (later Captain and killed in action in France on 23 July 1916); Lt James (Jim) Churchill Smith from Prospect, South Australia (later Major and awarded MC and bar and MID); Lt Colin Macpherson Smith from Cockburn, South Australia (died of wounds at Passchendaele, Belgium on 6 October 1917 (brother of the aviators Ross and Keith Smith)); Lt. Virgil Tucker from Ballarat, Victoria (later Captain and killed in action at Bullecourt, France on 11 April 1917).

    Australian War Memorial